Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now


Author(s): Hinemoa Elder

Location(s): New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Genre(s): Nonfiction, Miscellaneous

Era(s): Various

Aroha is an ancient Maori word and way of thinking that means love, compassion, respect and empathy. Discover how we can all find greater contentment and kindness for ourselves, each other and our world with more Aroha in our lives.

Through 52 whatatauki – traditional Maori life lessons – Maori psychiatrist Dr Hinemoa Elder shares the power of Aroha and explores how it could help us all every day.

Family, community, a sense of place, looking after each other, living in tune with the natural world are all fundamental to traditional Maori culture. Aroha gives the All Blacks pride, unity and heart. It is understandable that New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern chose to call her daughter Neve Te Aroha.

The 52 life lessons are arranged into 4 chapters that introduce the different, important facets of Aroha: Manaakitanga (kindness); Kaitiakitanga (love for our world); Whanaungatanga (empathy); and Tino rangatiratanga (what is right).

Respected Maori psychiatrist Dr Hinemoa Elder offers a uniquely insightful perspective that can help us all in our daily lives.

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in