Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

Swallows of Kabul

Swallows of Kabul

Author(s): Yasmina Khadra

Location(s): Kabul

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Since the ascendancy of the Taliban the lives of Mosheen and his beautiful wife, Zunaira, have been gradually destroyed. Mosheen’s dream of becoming a diplomat has been shattered and Zunaira can no longer even appear on the streets of Kabul unveiled. Atiq is a jailer who guards those who have been condemned to death: the darkness of prison and the wretchedness of his job have seeped into his soul. Atiq’s wife, Musarrat, is suffering from an illness no doctor can cure. Yet, the lives of these four people are about to become inexplicably intertwined, through death and imprisonment to passion and extraordinary self-sacrifice.

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in

Book Reviews

Lead Review

A major bestseller in the tradition of THE KITE RUNNER and THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL

Read review