Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

The Officer’s Daughter

The Officer’s Daughter

Author(s): Zina Rohan

Location(s): Germany, Poland, Siberia

Genre(s): Historical

Era(s): 1930s 1940s

Location

Content

This is an epic wartime romance which sees a headstrong young woman face hardship, danger and dilemmas as the forces of history sweep her across continents, while two men compete to claim her heart.It is suitable for fans of “Cold Mountain” or Captain Corelli’s “Mandolin”, Sebastian Faulks, Pam Jenoff, and, Anthony Capella.Sixteen-year-old Marta has always longed to follow her father and lead armies into battle. Instead she finds herself leading her fellow girl-guides on a camping trip on the border between Poland and Germany on the very day in September 1939 that the Nazis invade. Immediately the girls are spirited across their Polish motherland to take refuge in a remote nunnery, but their safety is soon under threat…So begins a perilous adventure across thousands of miles – from the logging camps of frozen Siberia to the British field hospitals of Persia – during which Marta is forced to draw on reserves of courage she didn’t think she had and make choices she never imagined she’d face, as her heart is torn between a fiery young Polish patriot and a charismatic Iranian doctor.

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in

Book Reviews

Lead Review

Wonderful descriptions of the places where the events take place are coupled with a look at society and politics of the time – Renush –

Read review

Enter the 2021TripFiction 'Sense of Place' Creative Writing Competition!

A story in which the location plays as important a role as the rest of your words.

2,500 word maximum, 750 word minimum

Judges include Victoria Hislop and Rosanna Ley

First Prize of £1,000 / US$1,350

Prizes total £1,750 / US$2,362 

Winning entry published on TripFiction site and publicised on Social Media

Entries close 6th November 2021