Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

The Madonnas of Leningrad

The Madonnas of Leningrad
  • Author(s): Debra Dean
  • Location(s): St Petersburg (Leningrad)
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1941

The Madonnas of Leningrad, the first novel by Seattle professor Debra Dean, is the story of Marina, a young museum docent who takes refuge in the Hermitage during the 1941 siege of Leningrad. The paintings and artifacts are gone,...

The Ice Whisperers

The Ice Whisperers
  • Author(s): Helenka Stachera, Marco Guadalupi (Illustrator)
  • Location(s): Siberia
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): N/A

A haunting magical adventure about two sisters born 40,000 years apart, perfect for fans of Frostheart and The Wild Way Home. When Bela’s mother dies, she is summoned to deepest Siberia to stay with an uncle she’s never met....

The Amber Keeper

The Amber Keeper
  • Author(s): Freda Lightfoot
  • Location(s): Russia, The Lake District
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction, Romance
  • Era(s): Early / mid 20th Century

Set against the backdrop of revolutionary Russia, The Amber Keeper is a sweeping tale of jealousy and revenge, reconciliation and forgiveness. English Lake District, 1960s: A young Abbie Myers returns home after learning of her mother’s death. Estranged from...

Infraction

Infraction
  • Author(s): Yvonne Zipter
  • Location(s): St Petersburg (Leningrad)
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 19th century

Marya Zhukova is a woman of many passions. Her husband isn’t one of them. It’s mathematics and literature that captivate her, in part, but her lover, Vera, enthralls her most of all. These are, however, all dangerous obsessions in...

The Tsarina’s Daughter

The Tsarina’s Daughter
  • Author(s): Ellen Alpsten
  • Location(s): Russia
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): 1723-1741

When they took everything from her, they didn’t count on her fighting to get it back… Born into the House of Romanov to the all-powerful Peter the Great and Catherine I, beautiful Tsarevna Elizabeth is the world’s loveliest Princess...

The Blackbird Girls

The Blackbird Girls
  • Author(s): Anne Blankman
  • Location(s): Ukraine, St Petersburg (Leningrad)
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): 1986 and 1941

Like Ruta Sepetys for middle grade, Anne Blankman pens a poignant and timeless story of friendship that twines together moments in underexplored history. On a spring morning, neighbors Valentina Kaplan and Oksana Savchenko wake up to an angry red...

The Starlings of Bucharest

The Starlings of Bucharest
  • Author(s): Sarah Armstrong
  • Location(s): Moscow
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Spy
  • Era(s): 1970s

(The Moscow Wolves Series Book 2) The threats people hold over us are most often imagined. We even create them for ourselves. Ted moves to London to become a journalist but quickly slides into debt. Things look up when...

The Bright & the Pale

The Bright & the Pale
  • Author(s): Jessica Rubinkowski
  • Location(s): Russia
  • Genre(s): Young Adult
  • Era(s): N/A

Debut author Jessica Rubinkowski delivers the thrilling first book in an epic Russian folklore–inspired fantasy duology filled with page-turning romance, tragedy, magic, and monsters. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sara Raasch! Seventeen-year-old Valeria is one of the...

Last Flight to Stalingrad

Last Flight to Stalingrad
  • Author(s): Graham Hurley
  • Location(s): Berlin, Volgograd (Stalingrad)
  • Genre(s): Historical, Thriller
  • Era(s): WW2

Berlin, 1942. For Werner Nehmann, a journalist at the Ministry of Propaganda, the dizzying victory of the last four years has felt like a party without end. But the Reich’s attention has turned East, and as winter sets in,...

The Scent of Empires

The Scent of Empires
  • Author(s): Karl Schlögel, Jessica Spengler (Translator)
  • Location(s): France, Russia
  • Genre(s): Nonfiction
  • Era(s): 20th Century

Can a drop of perfume tell the story of the twentieth century? Can a smell bear the traces of history? What can we learn about the history of the twentieth century by examining the fate of perfumes? In this...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Enter the 2021TripFiction 'Sense of Place' Creative Writing Competition!

A story in which the location plays as important a role as the rest of your words.

2,500 word maximum, 750 word minimum

Judges include Victoria Hislop and Rosanna Ley

First Prize of £1,000 / US$1,350

Prizes total £1,750 / US$2,362 

Winning entry published on TripFiction site and publicised on Social Media

Entries close 6th November 2021