Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

The Secrets of Morgarten

The Secrets of Morgarten
  • Author(s): Louise Mangos
  • Location(s): Switzerland
  • Genre(s): Mystery
  • Era(s): Fourteenth century

A young nation in peril. A web of deception. A triangle of forbidden love. The year is 1315. The fledgling nation of Switzerland – the Confederation Helvetica – is under threat from the Habsburgs. In France, the Knights Templar...

The Other Einstein

The Other Einstein
  • Author(s): Marie Benedict
  • Location(s): Switzerland, Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Serbia
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): Late 1800s and Early 1900s

Historical fiction that presents a “what if” theory about the amount of involvement that Albert Einstein’s first wife (also a physicist) had in some of his most significant scientific contributions.

Deep Dark Blue

Deep Dark Blue
  • Author(s): Seraina Kobler, Alexandra Roesch (Translator)
  • Location(s): Zurich
  • Genre(s): Police Procedural, Crime, Fiction, In Translation
  • Era(s): Contemporary

The first in a new series starring the intelligent and warm-hearted investigator Rosa Zambrano for fans of Ann Cleaves and Sarah Pearse. Lake Zurich is Rosa Zambrano’s beat. Once a detective with the CID, she’s traded in serious crimes...

Escape to the Swiss Chalet

Escape to the Swiss Chalet
  • Author(s): Carrie Walker
  • Location(s): Verbier
  • Genre(s): RomCom
  • Era(s): Contemporary

When your life goes off-piste how do you climb back up the mountain? Holly Roberts is well-known among family and friends for despising the cold, so no one is more surprised than her when she agrees to pack her...

Betrayed By The Truth

Betrayed By The Truth
  • Author(s): Daniella Bernett
  • Location(s): London, Switzerland
  • Genre(s): Mystery, Suspense
  • Era(s): Contemporary

An inconvenient alibi…a priceless treasure…an MI6 mole It’s a potent lethal cocktail Journalist Emmeline Kirby and her jewel thief/insurance investigator husband Gregory Longdon become targets after a desperate stranger asks them to deliver a fortune in rare red diamonds...

The Murder of Anton Livius

The Murder of Anton Livius
  • Author(s): Hansjörg Schneider
  • Location(s): Basel
  • Genre(s): Crime, Fiction, Mystery
  • Era(s): Early 21st Century

For Inspector Hunkeler the New Year begins with a most unwelcome phone call. He is summoned back to Basel from his holiday to unravel a gruesome killing in a gardening allotment on the city’s outskirts. An old man known...

The Expat Wife

The Expat Wife
  • Author(s): Courtney Hargrove
  • Location(s): Lucerne
  • Genre(s): Crime, Thriller
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Welcome to Switzerland in winter: Snow upon snow, everywhere to disappear, nowhere to hide… From the #1 bestselling author of London Bridge is Down comes an atmospheric, twisty and suspenseful mystery set in one of the most beautiful places...

A Place in the World

A Place in the World
  • Author(s): Amy Maroney
  • Location(s): The Pyrenees, Amsterdam, Aragon, Paris, Switzerland, The Basque Country
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): Sixteenth century and modern day (dual timeline)

The secrets of the past are treacherous…and irresistible. A Renaissance-era female artist and an American scholar. Linked by a centuries-old mystery… 1505: Pregnant and reunited with the love of her life, artist Mira survives a harrowing journey to the...

Time Shelter

Time Shelter
  • Author(s): Georgi Gospodinov, Angela Rodel (Translator)
  • Location(s): Zurich
  • Genre(s): Fiction, In Translation
  • Era(s): Contemporary

In Time Shelter, an enigmatic flâneur named Gaustine opens a ‘clinic for the past’ that offers a promising treatment for Alzheimer’s sufferers: each floor reproduces a decade in minute detail, transporting patients back in time. As Gaustine’s assistant, the...

Geneva

Geneva
  • Author(s): Richard Armitage
  • Location(s): Canton Vaud, Geneva
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Thriller
  • Era(s): Contemporary

‘Geneva is one of the best thrillers I’ve ever read. And I’ve read quite a few.’ A. J. FINN Nobel Prize-winning scientist Sarah Collier has started to show the same tell-tale signs of the Alzheimer’s disease as her father:...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now