Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

When Invisible Children Sing

When Invisible Children Sing
  • Author(s): Dr Chi Huang
  • Location(s): La Paz
  • Genre(s): Autobiography/Memoirs
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Expecting to treat some mildly ill children from the streets of Bolivia on a quick “service trip,” an idealistic young medical student gets more than he bargained for when he takes a year off from Harvard Medical School to...

When Lightning Strikes

When Lightning Strikes
  • Author(s): Meg Cabot
  • Location(s): Indiana
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): early 21st century

Jess Mastriani has never been what you’d call a typical Midwestern teenager—her extracurricular activities, instead of cheerleading or 4-H, include fist-fights with the football team and month-long stints in detention. A part of Jess would like to be the...

When No One Is Watching

When No One Is Watching
  • Author(s): Alyssa Cole
  • Location(s): Brooklyn
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Thriller
  • Era(s): Modern

Rear Window meets Get Out in this gripping thriller from a critically acclaimed and New York Times Notable author, in which the gentrification of a Brooklyn neighbourhood takes on a sinister new meaning… Sydney Green is Brooklyn born and...

When Our Worlds Collided

When Our Worlds Collided
  • Author(s): Danielle Jawando
  • Location(s): Manchester
  • Genre(s): Young Adult
  • Era(s): Contemporary

A powerful coming-of-age story about chance encounters, injustice and how the choices that we make can completely change our future. The second YA novel from the critically acclaimed Danielle Jawando, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer...

When Rain Clouds Gather

When Rain Clouds Gather
  • Author(s): Bessie Head
  • Location(s): Botswana
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Contemporary

When Rainclouds Gather: Escaping South Africa and his troubled past, Makehaya crosses the border to Botswana, in the hope of leading a peaceful, purposeful life. In the village of Golema Mmidi he meets Gilbert, a charismatic Englishman who is...

When Rain Clouds Gather And Maru

When Rain Clouds Gather And Maru
  • Author(s): Bessie Head
  • Location(s): Botswana
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): Earlier 20th Century

When Rainclouds Gather: Escaping South Africa and his troubled past, Makehaya crosses the border to Botswana, in the hope of leading a peaceful, purposeful life. In the village of Golema Mmidi he meets Gilbert, a charismatic Englishman who is...

When Secrets Set Sail

When Secrets Set Sail
  • Author(s): Sita Brahmachari
  • Location(s): London
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): N/A

Secrets from the past are the keys to the future…if two children can find them. Bold adventure, timely themes and breath-taking writing from award-winning author, Sita Brahmachari. Usha is devastated when her grandmother Kali Ma passes away. Then straight-talking...

When Stars are Scattered

When Stars are Scattered
  • Author(s): Illustrator), Omar Mohamed (Author)
  • Location(s): Kenya
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): Modern

Omar and his brother Hassan, two Somali boys, have spent a long time in the Dadaab refugee camp. Separated from their mother, they are looked after by a friendly stranger. Life in the camp isn’t always easy. The hunger...

When Stars Rain Down

When Stars Rain Down
  • Author(s): Angela Jackson-Brown
  • Location(s): Georgia
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 1930s, 1936

18-year-old Opal is a young Black woman working as a housekeeper in a small Southern town in the 1930s―and then the Klan descends. A moving story that confronts America’s tragic past, When Stars Rain Down is both heartwarming and...

When the Haboob Sings

When the Haboob Sings
  • Author(s): Nejoud Al-Yagout
  • Location(s): Kuwait
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Contemporary

When Dunya Khair writes a controversial article in the newspaper challenging the status quo in her country, the response–ranging from adulation to death threats–is swift. Faced with the dissolution of familial ties and the prospective collapse of her marriage,...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now