Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

Filter:

The Book of Lost and Found

The Book of Lost and Found

Author(s): Lucy Foley

Location(s): Corsica, London, Paris

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Early and later 20th Century

Location

Content

Reviews

Sweeping and heartrending – the perfect summer read for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton. In many ways my life has been rather like a record of the lost and found. Perhaps all lives are like that ....

View Book

The Burning Man

The Burning Man

Author(s): Christopher Fowler

Location(s): London

Genre(s): Crime, Thriller

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

Set around London – Kings Cross, Brixton, The City and Belgravia…. London is under siege. A banking scandal has filled the city with violent protests, and as the anger in the streets detonates, a young homeless man burns to...

View Book

The Cartography of Others – Short Stories

The Cartography of Others – Short Stories

Author(s): Catherine McNamara

Location(s): Ghana, Hong Kong, Italy, London, Mali, Paris, Sydney

Genre(s): Short Stories

Era(s): Contemporary

Location

Content

Reviews

A Japanese soprano sets sail for arid, haunted Corsica where she seeks her lost voice. A nude woman at the window of a Hong Kong hotel watches her lover dine in an adjacent building, but is her desire faltering?...

View Book

The Cuckoo’s Calling

The Cuckoo’s Calling

Author(s): Robert Galbraith

Location(s): London

Genre(s): Mystery

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case....

View Book

The Dog Walker

The Dog Walker

Author(s): Lesley Thomson

Location(s): Kew, London

Genre(s): Fiction, Thriller

Era(s): 1987 and 2016

Location

Content

Reviews

A haunted house, a broken family and a body that has never been found. Stella and Jack must reawaken the secrets of the past in order to solve the mysteries of the present. January, 1987. In the depths of...

View Book

The End of the Affair

The End of the Affair

Author(s): Graham Greene

Location(s): London

Era(s): 1940s

Location

Content

Reviews

Set in London during and just after World War II, Graham Greene’s The End of the Affair is a pathos-laden examination of a three-way collision between love of self, love of another and love of God. The affair in...

View Book

The Enduring Influence of Ken Potts

The Enduring Influence of Ken Potts

Author(s): Paul Connolly

Location(s): London, Lundy Island

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Present day

Location

Content

Reviews

When four singers discover a curious vocal technique called The Fifth Voice, they reveal a prize that changes their lives. But the death of Ken, their inspirational coach and mentor, leaves them grief-stricken and uncertain about the future. Vince,...

View Book

The Evil Beneath

The Evil Beneath

Author(s): A J Waines

Location(s): London

Genre(s): Crime, Mystery

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

There’s a body in the water – and she’s wearing your clothes… Impulsive and intrepid psychotherapist, Juliet Grey, can’t resist responding to an anonymous text message telling her to go to Hammersmith Bridge at dawn. But it isn’t simply...

View Book

The Forgotten Daughter

The Forgotten Daughter

Author(s): Renita D'Silva

Location(s): London, Udupi

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

‘You were adopted’. Three simple words, in a letter accompanying her parent’s will, tear Nisha’s carefully ordered world apart. Raised in England, by her caring but emotionally reserved parents, Nisha has never been one to take risks. Now, with...

View Book

The Forgotten Garden

The Forgotten Garden

Author(s): Kate Morton

Location(s): Brisbane, Cornwall, London

Genre(s): Mystery

Era(s): 1913-2005

Location

Content

Reviews

A well crafted and multi layered novel – it spans three generations and almost a whole century, going back and forth over time as Nell’s abandonment is explored.From the wilds of Cornwall, the slums of London, to the suburbs...

View Book

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now