Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

The Lions of Fifth Avenue

The Lions of Fifth Avenue
  • Author(s): Fiona Davis
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 1913 and 1993

In nationally bestselling author Fiona Davis’s latest historical novel, a series of book thefts roils the iconic New York Public Library, leaving two generations of strong-willed women to pick up the pieces. It’s 1913, and on the surface, Laura...

The Little Brooklyn Bakery

The Little Brooklyn Bakery
  • Author(s): Julie Caplin
  • Location(s): Brooklyn
  • Genre(s): RomCom
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Take a trip to the best little bakery in Brooklyn, where there’s more than a sprinkle of romance and a slice of pie makes it feel like home! When Sophie Bennings arrives in New York, love is the last...

The Lonely City

The Lonely City
  • Author(s): Olivia Laing
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Nonfiction
  • Era(s): Latter half 20th Century

When Olivia Laing moved to New York City in her mid-thirties, she found herself inhabiting loneliness on a daily basis. Increasingly fascinated by this most shameful of experiences, she began to explore the lonely city by way of art....

The Lost Steps

The Lost Steps
  • Author(s): Alejo Carpentier
  • Location(s): Amazon Rainforest, New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction

A composer, fleeing an empty existence in New York, takes a journey with his mistress to the remote upper reaches of a South American river, imagining he is retracing the lost steps of mankind

The Magnolia Palace

The Magnolia Palace
  • Author(s): Fiona Davis
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1920s

Eight months since losing her mother in the Spanish Flu outbreak of 1919, twenty-one-year-old Lillian Carter’s life has completely fallen apart. For the past six years, under the moniker Angelica, Lillian was one of the most sought after artists’...

The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit

The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit
  • Author(s): Sloan Wilson
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1950s

Universally acclaimed when first published in 1955, The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit captured the mood of a generation. Its title , like Catch-22 and Fahrenheit 451 , has become a part of America’s cultural vocabulary. Tom Rath...

The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: My Family’s Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World

The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: My Family’s Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World
  • Author(s): Lucette Lagnado
  • Location(s): Brooklyn, Cairo, Paris
  • Genre(s): Autobiography/Memoirs
  • Era(s): 1950s, 1960s

In vivid and graceful prose, Lucette Lagnado re-creates the majesty and cosmopolitan glamour of Cairo in the years between World War II and Gamal Abdel Nasser’s rise to power. Her father, Leon, was a boulevardier who conducted business on...

The Manhattan Girls

The Manhattan Girls
  • Author(s): Gill Paul
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): 1921

It’s a 1920s version of Sex and the City, as Dorothy Parker—one of the wittiest women who ever wielded a pen—and her three friends navigate life, love, and careers in New York City. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis,...

The Metropolis Case

The Metropolis Case
  • Author(s): Matthew Gallaway
  • Location(s): Paris, New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): Contemporary, 1860s

From the smoky music halls of 1860s Paris to the tumbling skyscrapers of twenty-first-century New York, a sweeping tale of passion, music, and the human heart’s yearning for connection. Martin is a forty-year-old lawyer who, despite his success, feels...

The Moon Over Kilmore Quay

The Moon Over Kilmore Quay
  • Author(s): Carmel Harrington
  • Location(s): County Wexford, Brooklyn
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1990's to 2020

It’s time to curl up with Carmel… When your heart belongs in two places, can you ever truly find home? Brooklyn, New York, Bea has grown up in the heart of the Irish community, always hearing stories of home....

Refine Location

Locations in New York City (NYC)

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Join TripFiction and take part in our weekly GIVEAWAYS!

Other benefits of membership include:

   Receiving an entertaining monthly newsletter

   Adding new books to the site

   Reviewing books you have read