Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

The Thin Man

The Thin Man
  • Author(s): Dashiell Hammett
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Crime, Fiction
  • Era(s): late 20th century

Nick and Nora Charles are Hammett’s most enchanting creations, a rich, glamorous couple who solve homicides in between wisecracks and martinis. At once knowing and unabashedly romantic, The Thin Man is a murder mystery that doubles as a sophisticated...

The Undoing

The Undoing
  • Author(s): Jean Hanff Korelitz
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Thriller
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Grace Sachs, a happily married therapist with a young son, thinks she knows everything about women, men and marriage. She is about to publish a book based on her pet theory: women don’t value their intuition about men, leading...

The Unlikely Occultist: A biographical novel of Alice A. Bailey

The Unlikely Occultist: A biographical novel of Alice A. Bailey
  • Author(s): Isobel Blackthorn
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC), Melbourne
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 1930s

Librarian Heather Brown discovers the fascinating life of Alice Bailey – a long forgotten occultist. Back in 1931, Alice is preparing to give a speech at a Swiss summer school. But how can she stave the tide of hatred...

The Unwitting

The Unwitting
  • Author(s): Ellen Feldman
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1963

At the height of the Cold War, words are weapons and secrecy reigns. These are challenging times to be a writer and a wife, as Nell Benjamin knows only too well. One bright November day in 1963, the dazzling...

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
  • Author(s): Karina Yan Glaser
  • Location(s): Harlem
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): Contemporary

From New York Times best-selling author Karina Yan Glaser comes one of Times’  Notable Children’s Books of 2017: “In this delightful and heartwarming throwback to the big-family novels of yesteryear, a large biracial family might lose their beloved brownstone home, but win...

The Walking People

The Walking People
  • Author(s): Mary Beth Keane
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC), Ireland
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 20th century

Greta Cahill never believed she would leave her village in the west of Ireland until she found herself on a ship bound for New York, along with her sister Johanna and a boy named Michael Ward. Labeled a “softheaded...

The Way of Beauty

The Way of Beauty
  • Author(s): Camille Di Maio
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): Earlier 20th Century

Vera Keller, the daughter of German immigrants in turn-of-the-century New York City, finds her life upended when the man she loves becomes engaged to another woman. But Angelo Bellavia has also inadvertently opened up Vera’s life to unexpected possibilities....

The Wedding Bees

The Wedding Bees
  • Author(s): Sarah-Kate Lynch
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Food and Drink, Fiction, Romance
  • Era(s): Modern

In the vein of Amelie and Chocolat, Sarah-Kate Lynchs The Wedding Bees is a charming, witty, honey-sweet novel about finding new love, letting go of the past, and the magic of rooftop honey in New York City.

The Weekend

The Weekend
  • Author(s): Alan Winnikoff
  • Location(s): Manhattan
  • Genre(s): Romance
  • Era(s): mid 1990s

Set Lower Manhattan The Weekend is the story of two people seeking to discover whether their feelings for each other are strong enough to cast off their current relationships and find something deeper with each other. The story is...

The Wolf of Wall Street

The Wolf of Wall Street
  • Author(s): Jordan Belfort
  • Location(s): Manhattan
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1990s

In the 1990s Jordan Belfort, former kingpin of the notorious investment firm Stratton Oakmont, became one of the most infamous names in American finance: a brilliant, conniving stock-chopper who led his merry mob on a wild ride out of...

Refine Location

Locations in New York City (NYC)

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Join TripFiction and take part in our weekly GIVEAWAYS!

Other benefits of membership include:

   Receiving an entertaining monthly newsletter

   Adding new books to the site

   Reviewing books you have read