Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

The Deserter Of Alamut

The Deserter Of Alamut
  • Author(s): Omid Banyasad
  • Location(s): Iran
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 11th century

Dara, a young shepherd from a remote village in the Seljuq Empire, is about to marry his love, Golnar, when the unthinkable happens: Golnar is kidnapped on their wedding day. With his sworn brother Borzoo at his side, Dara...

The Devil’s Road to Kathmandu

The Devil’s Road to Kathmandu
  • Author(s): Tom Vater
  • Location(s): Nepal, India, Iran, Pakistan, Turkey
  • Genre(s): Crime, Fiction
  • Era(s): 1970s, 1990s

A TENSE, FAST PACED AND KALEIDOSCOPIC PULP THRILLER, FOLLOWING THE LIVES OF TWO GENERATIONS OF DRIFTERS EMBROILED IN A SAGA OF SEX, DRUGS AND MURDER ON THE ROAD BETWEEN LONDON AND THE ROOF OF THE WORLD. In 1976, four...

The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree

The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree
  • Author(s): Shokoofeh Azar
  • Location(s): Iran
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Later 20th Century

From the pen of one of Iran’s rising literary stars, The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree is a family story about the unbreakable connection between the living and the dead. Set in Iran in the decade following the 1979...

The Exiled

The Exiled
  • Author(s): David Barbaree
  • Location(s): Iran, Rome
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): AD 79

As addictive as Game of Thrones, and perfect for fans of Robert Harris’ Cicero trilogy, The Exiled is a stunning novel of power, treachery and ambition. A.D. 79. Parthia is gripped by civil war. One king vying for the...

The Gardens of Light

The Gardens of Light
  • Author(s): Amin Maalouf
  • Location(s): Iran
  • Genre(s): Historical, Nonfiction
  • Era(s): AD 216 - AD 274

This is the story of Mani, a forgotten figure, but whose name is yet, paradoxically, on everyone’s lips. When using the words “Manichean” or “Manichaeism” one rarely thinks Mani, painter, doctor and Eastern philosopher of the third century, called...

The Girl with a Brave Heart

The Girl with a Brave Heart
  • Author(s): Rita Jahanforuz, Vali Mintzi (Illustrator)
  • Location(s): Tehran
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): N/A

Young Shiraz lives a lonely life with her stepmother and stepsister, completely unaware of the old woman who lives alone next door…until Shiraz’s runaway yarn ball brings them face-to-face. This beautiful story from Tehran-born Israeli pop star Rita Jahanforuz...

The House of the Mosque

The House of the Mosque
  • Author(s): Kader Abdolah
  • Location(s): Iran
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1979

In the house of the mosque, the family of Aqa Jaan has lived for eight centuries. Now it is occupied by three cousins: Aqa Jaan, a merchant and head of the city’s bazaar; Alsaberi, the imam of the mosque;...

The Immortals of Tehran

The Immortals of Tehran
  • Author(s): Ali Araghi
  • Location(s): Iran, Tehran
  • Genre(s): Magical Realism, Poetry
  • Era(s): Contemporary

The Torkashvand family reveres their seemingly immortal patriarch, Agha, the trunk of their widely branching, family tree. When we come to the story, Agha is so old that he spends his days sitting in the family orchard, drinking tea...

The Persian Bride

The Persian Bride
  • Author(s): James Buchan
  • Location(s): Isfahan
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1974

At once a great love story, a riveting political thriller, and a profound analysis of modern Iran, THE PERSIAN BRIDE is unflinching in its vision of twentieth-century chaos. In 1974, the young Englishman John Pitt follows the hippie trail...

The Phoenix of Persia

The Phoenix of Persia
  • Author(s): Sally Pomme Clayton, Amin Hassanzadeh Sharif (Illustrator)
  • Location(s): Iran
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): N/A

In a bustling marketplace in Iran, a traditional storyteller regales her audience with the tale of Prince Zal and the Simorgh. High up on the Mountain of Gems lives the Simorgh, a wise phoenix whose flapping wings disperse the...

Refine Location

Locations in Iran

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Join TripFiction and take part in our weekly GIVEAWAYS!

Other benefits of membership include:

   Receiving an entertaining monthly newsletter

   Adding new books to the site

   Reviewing books you have read