Blogs in May 2024

About Uncle 1st May 2024

A freaky tale of isolation and the porous membranes between us, Rebecca Gisler’s slim novel renders a collapsing world with equal parts aversion, fascination, and tenderness–for readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Sayaka Murata. At an age when she’d rather...

Read More 

Blizzard 6th January 2024

A blizzard rages in an isolated corner of Alaska. Few inhabitants live in this desolate place. Scattered across the vast, white expanse, they shelter in solitude from the tempest and the extreme cold. But amid this storm and far...

Read More 

As The Eagle Flies 25th September 2023

‘A subtle, singular novel of profound insight, delivered in a voice so hilarious, intimate and frank, it was as if I suddenly had a zany French genius for my best friend. I enjoyed this book so much it felt...

Read More 

Days at the Morisaki Bookshop 7th September 2023

The Japanese bestseller: a tale of love, new beginnings, and the comfort that can be found between the pages of a good book. When twenty-five-year-old Takako’s boyfriend reveals he’s marrying someone else, she reluctantly accepts her eccentric uncle Satoru’s...

Read More 

Venom 7th June 2023

The village of Praeknamdang, nestled in the Thai jungle, has fallen under the spell of Song Waad, the self-proclaimed medium of The Sacred Mother. Living in fear of his connection to the Patron goddess, the villagers offer up land...

Read More