Blogs in August 2021

Harlem Shuffle 19th August 2021

To his customers and neighbors on 125th street, Carney is an upstanding salesman of reasonably-priced furniture, making a life for himself and his family. He and his wife Elizabeth are expecting their second child, and if her parents on...

Read More 

Go Tell it on the Mountain 10th July 2021

‘I had to deal with what hurt me most. I had to deal with my father.’ Drawing on James Baldwin’s own boyhood in a religious community in 1930s Harlem, his first novel tells the story of young Johnny Grimes....

Read More 

The Poet X 9th May 2021

THE POET X – THE WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL. A stunning New York Times bestseller with a powerful and unforgettable YA voice. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi’s The Children of Blood and Bone, Angie Thomas’s The...

Read More 

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street 9th November 2020

From New York Times best-selling author Karina Yan Glaser comes one of Times’  Notable Children’s Books of 2017: “In this delightful and heartwarming throwback to the big-family novels of yesteryear, a large biracial family might lose their beloved brownstone home, but win...

Read More 

Another Country 22nd September 2020

Set in Greenwich Village, Harlem, and France, among other locales, Another Country is a novel of passions–sexual, racial, political, artistic–that is stunning for its emotional intensity and haunting sensuality, depicting men and women, blacks and whites, stripped of their...

Read More 

Join TripFiction and take part in our weekly GIVEAWAYS!

Other benefits of membership include:

   Receiving an entertaining monthly newsletter

   Adding new books to the site

   Reviewing books you have read