Blogs in November 2023

The Witch’s Daughter 24th November 2023

A city in flames. A revolution raging. A woman on the run. Nadezhda has never wanted to be a witch. But the occult is in her blood. Her mother, Militza, conjured Rasputin and introduced him into the Romanov court,...

Read More 

Small Acts of Kindness, a tale of the first Russian Revolution 5th August 2023

St Petersburg, 1825. Imperial Russia still basks in the light of glorious victory over Napoleon, but rising resentment against autocracy, enslavement and injustice threatens the state. Vasily, a privileged, naïve young man returns from a tour of Europe destined...

Read More 

Brisbane 2nd August 2023

For fans of Dostoyevsky, Tolstoy, and Umberto Eco Vodolazkin’s new novel Brisbane is “a sophisticated and frequently moving study in dissonance, dedicated to pointing out contrasts between art and life, beauty and decay, intention and outcome. And, yes, between Ukraine and...

Read More 

Punishment of a Hunter 4th December 2022

MURDER 1930s Leningrad. Stalin is tightening his grip on the Soviet Union, and a mood of fear cloaks the city. Detective Vasily Zaitsev is tasked with investigating a series of bizarre and seemingly motiveless homicides. MAYHEM As the curious...

Read More 

The Last Russian Doll 4th August 2022

A haunting, epic novel about betrayal, revenge, and redemption that follows three generations of Russian women, from the 1917 revolution to the last days of the Soviet Union, and the enduring love story at the center. In a faraway...

Read More