Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

Black Chalk

Black Chalk

Author(s): Christopher J Yates

Location(s): New York City (NYC), Oxford

Genre(s): Thriller

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

A compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University, in which a group of six students play an elaborate game of dares and consequences, with tragic results One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, 14 years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. A gripping psychological thriller, partly inspired by the author’s own time at Oxford University, this is perfect for fans of “The Secret History,” “The Bellwether Revivals,” and “The Lessons. “Clever, dark, and compulsively readable, this is an ideal book group title: who knows better than your best friends, what would break you? The author’s background in puzzle writing and setting can clearly be seen in the plotting of this clever, tricksy book that will keep readers guessing to the very end. Waterstones.com

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in

Book Reviews

Lead Review

A novel for the turn of the 21st century – power, determination and gullibility. Chad, an American, arrives at Pitt College, Oxford (built in 1620 with requisite Gothic glories of architecture) to study for...

Read review

Join TripFiction and take part in our weekly GIVEAWAYS!

Other benefits of membership include:

   Receiving an entertaining monthly newsletter

   Adding new books to the site

   Reviewing books you have read