Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

Pelican Girls

Pelican Girls

Author(s): Julia Malye

Location(s): New Orleans, Paris

Genre(s): Historical, Fiction

Era(s): Early 18th Century

A historical feministic epic, for readers of Barbara Kingsolver, The Matrix by Lauren Groff and Maggie Shipstead’s The Great Circle.

Paris, 1720. The Hospice of La Salpêtrière is overrun with ‘difficult’ women.

Halfway around the world, on the American frontier, French settlers are in want of wives. At the asylum, a list is drawn up: eighty-eight women of childbearing age to be shipped to New Orleans. Among them are Charlotte, Geneviève and Pétronille – a sharp-tongued orphan, an accused abortionist and a rumoured madwoman.

They make the voyage over the ocean, knowing nothing of the harsh and extraordinary lives that await them, or how they will come to love and betray each other time and again in this wild and beautiful land.

Bold, thrilling and startling intimate, PELICAN GIRLS is a powerful vision of female friendship, identity and desire, and the choices women make in their unshakeable will to survive.

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in

Latest Blogs