Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

Stargazer

Author(s): Laurie Petrou

Location(s): Ontario

Genre(s): Coming of Age, Psychological Thriller

Era(s): Contemporary

Location

Content

It’s a fine line between admiration and envy.

Diana Martin has lived her life in the shadow of her sadistic older brother. She quietly watches the family next door, enthralled by celebrity fashion designer Marianne Taylor and her feted daughter, Aurelle.

She wishes she were a ‘Taylor girl’.

By the summer of 1995, the two girls are at university together, bonded by a mutual desire to escape their wealthy families and personal tragedies and forge new identities.

They are closer than lovers, intoxicated by their own bond, falling into the hedonistic seduction of the woods and the water at a remote university that is more summer camp than campus.

But when burgeoning artist Diana has a chance at fame, cracks start to appear in their friendship. To what lengths is Diana willing to go to secure her own stardom?

The lines between love, envy and obsession blur in Laurie Petrou’s utterly enthralling, unceasingly tense new novel. A darkly compelling coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History or Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies.

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in

Book Reviews

Lead Review

Author: Tina Hartas

“I knew from the moment I conceived of Stargazer that I wanted it to take place at a remote university in Ontario’s cottage country. I was inspired by The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Virgin...

Read review

Join TripFiction and take part in our weekly GIVEAWAYS!

Other benefits of membership include:

   Receiving an entertaining monthly newsletter

   Adding new books to the site

   Reviewing books you have read