Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

Are We Nearly There Yet?

Are We Nearly There Yet?
  • Author(s): Lucy Vine
  • Location(s): Thailand, Los Angeles
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Present

Alice is turning thirty and is stuck in a rut. Her friends are all coupling up and settling down, while she’s still working as a temp, trying (and failing) not to shag her terrible ex, getting thrown out of...

Cannery Row

Cannery Row
  • Author(s): John Steinbeck
  • Location(s): Monterey
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 1930s

John Steinbeck’s paean to the Monterey County of his youth, Cannery Row contains an introduction by Susan Shillinglaw in Penguin Modern Classics. In the din and stink that is Cannery Row a colourful blend of misfits – gamblers, whores, drunks, bums and artists...

Deep Blue Trouble

Deep Blue Trouble
  • Author(s): Steph Broadribb
  • Location(s): Southern California
  • Genre(s): Crime, Thriller
  • Era(s): Modern

Her daughter Dakota is safe, but her cancer is threatening a comeback, and Lori needs JT – Dakota’s daddy and the man who taught Lori everything – alive and kicking. Problem is, he’s behind bars, and heading for death...

Deep Down Dead

Deep Down Dead
  • Author(s): Steph Broadribb
  • Location(s): California, Florida, Georgia, West Virginia
  • Genre(s): Thriller
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Lori Anderson is as tough as they come, managing to keep her career as a fearless Florida bounty hunter separate from her role as single mother to nine-year-old Dakota, who suffers from leukaemia. But when the hospital bills start...

FALL OUT

FALL OUT
  • Author(s): M N Grenside
  • Location(s): California, London, Switzerland, The Philippines, The South of France (Le Midi)
  • Genre(s): Thriller
  • Era(s): PRESENT

An LA screenwriter is killed shortly after completing his latest script, FALL OUT – a thriller destined to be a blockbuster but written with a secret double purpose. Echoing events from the past the screenplay is sent to a...

Fever City

Fever City
  • Author(s): Tim Baker
  • Location(s): Dallas, Los Angeles
  • Genre(s): Thriller
  • Era(s): 1960s/2014

Nick Alston, a Los Angeles private investigator, is hired to find the kidnapped son of America’s richest and most hated man. Hastings, a mob hitman in search of redemption, is also on the trail. But both men soon become...

Pretending to Dance

Pretending to Dance
  • Author(s): Diane Chamberlain
  • Location(s): North Carolina, San Diego
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Modern

When the pretending ends, the lying begins . . . Molly Arnette is good at keeping secrets. As she and her husband try to adopt a baby, she worries that the truth she’s kept hidden about her North Carolina childhood...

The Immortalists

The Immortalists
  • Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
  • Location(s): New York City (NYC), San Francisco
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): From 1969

It’s 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York’s Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young...

The Long, Long Afternoon

The Long, Long Afternoon
  • Author(s): Inga Vesper
  • Location(s): California
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): Late 1950s

The sunniest places hold the darkest secrets . . . A stunning 1950s set debut mystery brimming with atmosphere and perfect for fans of Tangerine, Small Pleasures and Mad Men. Yesterday, I kissed my husband for the last time...

The Perfect Wife

The Perfect Wife
  • Author(s): J P Delaney
  • Location(s): San Francisco
  • Genre(s): Psychological Thriller
  • Era(s): Present looking back 5 years

“There’s something I have to explain, my love,” he says, taking your hand in his. “That wasn’t a dream. It was an upload.” Abbie wakes in a hospital bed with no memory of how she got there. The man...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Enter the 2021TripFiction 'Sense of Place' Creative Writing Competition!

A story in which the location plays as important a role as the rest of your words.

2,500 word maximum, 750 word minimum

Judges include Victoria Hislop and Rosanna Ley

First Prize of £1,000 / US$1,350

Prizes total £1,750 / US$2,362 

Winning entry published on TripFiction site and publicised on Social Media

Entries close 6th November 2021