Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

Are We Nearly There Yet?

Are We Nearly There Yet?
  • Author(s): Lucy Vine
  • Location(s): Thailand, Los Angeles
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Present

Alice is turning thirty and is stuck in a rut. Her friends are all coupling up and settling down, while she’s still working as a temp, trying (and failing) not to shag her terrible ex, getting thrown out of...

Cannery Row

Cannery Row
  • Author(s): John Steinbeck
  • Location(s): Monterey
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 1930s

John Steinbeck’s paean to the Monterey County of his youth, Cannery Row contains an introduction by Susan Shillinglaw in Penguin Modern Classics. In the din and stink that is Cannery Row a colourful blend of misfits – gamblers, whores, drunks, bums and artists...

Deep Down Dead

Deep Down Dead
  • Author(s): Steph Broadribb
  • Location(s): California, Florida, Georgia, West Virginia
  • Genre(s): Thriller
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Lori Anderson is as tough as they come, managing to keep her career as a fearless Florida bounty hunter separate from her role as single mother to nine-year-old Dakota, who suffers from leukaemia. But when the hospital bills start...

FALL OUT

FALL OUT
  • Author(s): M N Grenside
  • Location(s): California, London, Switzerland, The Philippines, The South of France (Le Midi)
  • Genre(s): Thriller
  • Era(s): PRESENT

An LA screenwriter is killed shortly after completing his latest script, FALL OUT – a thriller destined to be a blockbuster but written with a secret double purpose. Echoing events from the past the screenplay is sent to a...

The Long, Long Afternoon

The Long, Long Afternoon
  • Author(s): Inga Vesper
  • Location(s): California
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): Late 1950s

The sunniest places hold the darkest secrets . . . A stunning 1950s set debut mystery brimming with atmosphere and perfect for fans of Tangerine, Small Pleasures and Mad Men. Yesterday, I kissed my husband for the last time...

The Savior of 6th Street

The Savior of 6th Street
  • Author(s): Orlando Ortega-Medina
  • Location(s): Paris, Los Angeles, New York City (NYC)
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1980s

Deserted by his father at the age of four and raised by his voodoo queen mother on the fringes of Skid Row, Los Angeles street artist Virgilio Santos believes it his mission to save the down-and-outers in his neighborhood....

The Secret Wife

The Secret Wife
  • Author(s): Gill Paul
  • Location(s): New York State, Russia, San Francisco
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): Early 20th Century and 2011

A Russian grand duchess and an English journalist. Linked by one of the world’s greatest mysteries . . . Love. Guilt. Heartbreak. 1914 Russia is on the brink of collapse, and the Romanov family faces a terrifyingly uncertain future....

The Tiger Catcher

The Tiger Catcher
  • Author(s): Paullina Simons
  • Location(s): London, Los Angeles
  • Genre(s): Fantasy, Romance

Can true love ever die? Julian lives a charmed life in Los Angeles. Surrounded by friends, he is young, handsome, and runs a successful business. Everything changes after he has a fateful encounter with a mysterious young woman named...

An Inconvenient Woman

An Inconvenient Woman
  • Author(s): Stéphanie Buelens
  • Location(s): Los Angeles
  • Genre(s): Psychological Thriller
  • Era(s): Modern

When Claire Fontaine learns that her ex-husband Simon is marrying again, to a woman with a teenage daughter, her blood runs cold. She is sure that years ago Simon molested her own daughter and was responsible for her mysterious...

Beneath the Same Heaven

Beneath the Same Heaven
  • Author(s): Anne Marie Ruff
  • Location(s): Los Angeles, Dubai, Pakistan, San Diego
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Thriller

Kathryn, an American woman, and Rashid, a Pakistani-born Muslim man, seem to have bridged the divide between Western and Islamic world views with their marriage and two American-born children. But everything changes when Rashid’s father is suddenly killed by...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Enter the 2021TripFiction 'Sense of Place' Creative Writing Competition!

A story in which the location plays as important a role as the rest of your words.

2,500 word maximum, 750 word minimum

Judges include Victoria Hislop and Rosanna Ley

First Prize of £1,000 / US$1,350

Prizes total £1,750 / US$2,362 

Winning entry published on TripFiction site and publicised on Social Media

Entries close 6th November 2021