Find a Book

The genre "Genre." was not recognised, please select one from the drop-down menu.

Filter:

Displacement

Displacement

Author(s): Anne Stormont

Location(s): Isle of Skye, Israel, Palestine

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

The search for resolution after the upheaval of loss. A journey full of insight, forgiveness and love. Divorce, the death of her soldier son and estrangement from her daughter, leave Hebridean crofter, Rachel Campbell, grief-stricken, lonely and lost. Forced...

View Book

To the Lighthouse

To the Lighthouse

Author(s): Virginia Woolf

Location(s): Isle of Skye

Genre(s): Fiction, Historical

Era(s): Early 20th Century, WW1

Location

Content

To the Lighthouse is the most autobiographical of Virginia Woolf’s novels. It is based on her own early experiences, and while it touches on childhood and children’s perceptions and desires, it is at its most trenchant when exploring adult...

View Book

Cocktail Hour under the Tree of Forgetfulness

Cocktail Hour under the Tree of Forgetfulness

Author(s): Alexandra Fuller

Location(s): East Africa, Isle of Skye

Genre(s): Biography

Era(s): Mid 20th Century

Location

Content

Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness tells the story of the author’s mother, Nicola Fuller. Nicola Fuller and her husband were a glamorous and optimistic couple and East Africa lay before them with the promise of all its...

View Book

Finding Heather

Finding Heather

Author(s): Alison Ragsdale

Location(s): Isle of Skye

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Current time

Heather Forester is losing her grip on reality. She turns up at the airport to meet her pilot husband, Brett—and then she remembers: he’s not coming back. Brett died months ago, leaving her lost in the crippling, confusing maze...

View Book

Keeper of the Way

Keeper of the Way

Author(s): Patricia Leslie

Location(s): Isle of Skye, Sydney

Genre(s): Fantasy, Fiction, Historical

Era(s): 1600s to 1880s

Book one in a three book series: After news of grave robbing and murder in Dun Ringall, the ancient stronghold of Clan McKinnon on the Isle of Skye, Rosalie realises it is time to share her family’s secrets. Descendants...

View Book

Settlement

Settlement

Author(s): Anne Stormont

Location(s): Isle of Skye, Israel, Palestine

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Modern

Can love truly heal old wounds? Can the past ever be put peacefully to rest? If you like a complex, grown-up romance with lots of raw emotion, dramatic and exotic settings, all mixed in with some international politics and...

View Book

Star Gazing

Star Gazing

Author(s): Linda Gillard

Location(s): Edinburgh, Isle of Skye

Genre(s): Fiction, Romance

Era(s): Modern

Blind since birth, widowed in her twenties, now lonely in her forties, Marianne Fraser lives in Edinburgh in elegant, angry anonymity with her sister, Louisa, a successful novelist. Marianne’s passionate nature finds solace and expression in music, a love...

View Book

The Story Keeper

The Story Keeper

Author(s): Anna Mazzola

Location(s): Isle of Skye

Genre(s): Crime, Historical

Era(s): 1857

From the author of THE UNSEEING comes a sizzling, period novel of folk tales, disappearances and injustice set on the Isle of Skye, sure to appeal to readers of Hannah Kent’s BURIAL RITES or Beth Underdown’s THE WITCH FINDER’S...

View Book

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now