Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

The Brothers Lionheart

The Brothers Lionheart
  • Author(s): Astrid Lindgren, Ilon Wikland (illustrator), Joan Tate (translator)
  • Location(s): Sweden
  • Genre(s): Children, In Translation
  • Era(s): N/A

The Brothers Lionheart (Swedish: Bröderna Lejonhjärta) is a children’s fantasy novel written by Astrid Lindgren. It was published in the autumn of 1973 and has been translated into 46 languages. Many of its themes are unusually dark and heavy...

The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart

The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart
  • Author(s): Anna Bell
  • Location(s): Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Portsmouth
  • Genre(s): Humour, Romance
  • Era(s): Contemporary

A hilarious new romantic comedy for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Jane Costello from Anna Bell, the bestselling author of Don’t Tell the Groom. Abi’s barely left her bed since Joseph, the love of her life, dumped her, saying...

The Budapest Artists’ Club

The Budapest Artists’ Club
  • Author(s): Claire Doyle
  • Location(s): Budapest
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Now

Laura McLove–lover of music and dance alike–encounters a handsome Hungarian dancer and returns to Budapest to get closure on the strange events that occurred nearly twenty years earlier. Arriving on Franz Liszt Square, she enrols an old friend to...

The Bull of Mithros #6

The Bull of Mithros #6
  • Author(s): Anne Zouroudi
  • Location(s): Corfu
  • Genre(s): Mystery
  • Era(s): Modern looking back

Fictionalised Corfu. Drawn to the sun-drenched island of Mithros by the myth of its fabled bull, the arrival of investigator Hermes Diaktoros coincides with a violent and troubling death. The death has echoes in Mithros’s past, in a brutal...

The Bullet Collection

The Bullet Collection
  • Author(s): Patricia Sarrafian Ward
  • Location(s): Lebanon
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1980s

Marianna watches her older sister Alaine collect the detritus of war from around Beirut–bullets, shrapnel, grenades, a gas mask. These objects, some taken from dead bodies, catalogue Alaine’s retreat into a dangerous depression. As the family struggles to endure...

The Bumblebee Flies Anyway

The Bumblebee Flies Anyway
  • Author(s): Kate Bradbury
  • Location(s): Birmingham, Brighton
  • Era(s): Modern

Finding herself in a new home in Brighton, Kate Bradbury sets about transforming her decked, barren backyard into a beautiful wildlife garden. She documents the unbuttoning of the earth and the rebirth of the garden, the rewilding of a...

The Bungalow

The Bungalow
  • Author(s): Sarah Jio
  • Location(s): Bora Bora, Seattle
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Romance
  • Era(s): 1942 onwards

The country is at war, 21 year old Anne Calloway is about to marry a man she has known all her life. Her best friend Kitty will depart for Bora Bora to work as a nurs. Anne too, decides...

The Bureau of Second Chances

The Bureau of Second Chances
  • Author(s): Sheena Kalayil
  • Location(s): Kerala
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 21st Century

Is going back the only way to start again? After more than thirty years in London, recently-widowed Thomas Imbalil returns to India. He spends his first months in uncluttered isolation in his house overlooking the Arabian Sea, in a...

The Buried Crown

The Buried Crown
  • Author(s): Ally Sherrick
  • Location(s): London, Suffolk
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): WW2

An exciting World War II adventure from acclaimed author Ally Sherrick – blending her trademark rip-roaring historical storytelling with mythology and magic! It’s World War II and Britain is on the brink of invasion. Londoner George has been sent...

The Burning Chambers

The Burning Chambers
  • Author(s): Kate Mosse
  • Location(s): Carcassone, Toulouse
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): 16th century

Bringing sixteenth-century Languedoc vividly to life, Kate Mosse’s The Burning Chambers is a gripping story of love and betrayal, mysteries and secrets; of war and adventure, conspiracies and divided loyalties . . . Carcassonne 1562: Nineteen-year-old Minou Joubert receives...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Enter the 2021TripFiction 'Sense of Place' Creative Writing Competition!

A story in which the location plays as important a role as the rest of your words.

2,500 word maximum, 750 word minimum

Judges include Victoria Hislop and Rosanna Ley

First Prize of £1,000 / US$1,350

Prizes total £1,750 / US$2,362 

Winning entry published on TripFiction site and publicised on Social Media

Entries close 6th November 2021