Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

Filter:

The Mountains of Paris: How Awe and Wonder Rewrote My Life

The Mountains of Paris: How Awe and Wonder Rewrote My Life
  • Author(s): David Oates
  • Location(s): Paris
  • Genre(s): Autobiography/Memoirs, Travelogue
  • Era(s): 21st Century

Living in Paris for a winter and a spring and waking each morning to a view of Notre Dame, David Oates is led to revise his life story from one of trudging and occasional woe into one punctuated by...

The Museum of Broken Promises

The Museum of Broken Promises
  • Author(s): Elizabeth Buchan
  • Location(s): Paris, Prague
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1986/current day

Laure, a half English, half French woman, sets up a museum in Paris, the Museum of Broken Promises. People come with objects to donate, which represent promises broken by themselves or others. Every day she listens to people recount...

The Night Gate

The Night Gate
  • Author(s): Peter May
  • Location(s): Paris, Carennac
  • Genre(s): Historical, Thriller
  • Era(s): Modern and WW2

In a sleepy French village, the body of a man shot through the head is disinterred by the roots of a fallen tree. A week later a famous art critic is viciously murdered in a nearby house. The deaths...

The Nightingale

The Nightingale
  • Author(s): Kristin Hannah
  • Location(s): Paris, France
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): WW22

Despite their differences, sisters Viann and Isabelle have always been close. Younger, bolder Isabelle lives in Paris while Viann is content with life in the French countryside with her husband Antoine and their daughter. But when the Second World...

The Oracle Glass

The Oracle Glass
  • Author(s): Judith Merkle Riley
  • Location(s): Versailles, Paris
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 17th Century

Her ability to see the future may prevent her from living in the present… For a handful of gold, Madame de Morville will read your future in a glass of swirling water. You’ll believe her, because you know she’s...

The Paper Girl of Paris

The Paper Girl of Paris
  • Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
  • Location(s): Paris
  • Genre(s): Young Adult
  • Era(s): Present and WW2

Code Name Verity meets Jennifer Donnelly’s Revolution in this gripping debut novel. NOW: Sixteen-year-old Alice is spending the summer in Paris, but she isn’t there for pastries and walks along the Seine. When her grandmother passed away two months...

The Paris Apartment

The Paris Apartment
  • Author(s): Sophia Karlson
  • Location(s): Paris
  • Genre(s): Romance
  • Era(s): Contemporary

James Sinclair, a successful trader, keeps his busy life uncomplicated. Work is about all he has time for. Imagine his surprise when he returns to his Paris apartment to find his little sister’s best friend, Mila Johnson, in his...

The Paris Bookseller

The Paris Bookseller
  • Author(s): Kerri Maher
  • Location(s): Paris
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): Early 20th Century

The captivating story of a trailblazing young woman who fought against incredible odds to bring one of the most important books of the twentieth century to the world. For readers of The Paris Library and The Paris Wife. PARIS,...

The Paris Children

The Paris Children
  • Author(s): Gloria Goldreich
  • Location(s): Paris
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 1930s

Inspired by the true story of one woman’s fight to survive during the 20th century’s darkest hour–World War II–Gloria Goldreich presents a story of love and resistance against all odds. Paris, 1935. A dark shadow falls over Europe as...