Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

Filter:

A Family Scandal

A Family Scandal

Author(s): Zoe Miller

Location(s): Hong Kong, London, New York City (NYC)

Genre(s): Fiction, Romance

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

The Rock Star It is twenty years since rock musician Zach Anderson mysteriously plunged to his death in a lake. When media interest in the incident is suddenly re-ignited, hidden tensions fracture the glamorous facade of the Morgan family,...

View Book

A Girl Called Flotsam

A Girl Called Flotsam

Author(s): John Tagholm

Location(s): London, Marseilles, Paris

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

For fans of Sebastian Faulks, Joanne Harris and William Boyd. Beatrice Palmentier is 36, an award-winning director. And discontent. She is about to make a documentary on world-famous restaurateur Joseph Troumeg, when the discovery of a skull on the...

View Book

A Good Confession

A Good Confession

Author(s): Bridget Whelan

Location(s): Ireland, London

Genre(s): Fiction, Romance

Era(s): Mid 20th Century

Location

Content

Reviews

This is a captivating debut novel about forbidden love…Cathleen Brogan is a young widow, struggling to bring up her family in 1960s orth London. Times are tough for the Irish immigrants who live there, their hardships comforted by the...

View Book

A Lady Cyclist’s Guide to Kashgar

A Lady Cyclist’s Guide to Kashgar

Author(s): Suzanne Joinson

Location(s): Kashi (Kashgar), London

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): 1920s and Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

It is 1923 and Evangeline English, keen lady cyclist, arrives with her sister Lizzie at the ancient Silk Route city of Kashgar to help establish a Christian mission. Lizzie is in thrall to their forceful and unyielding leader Millicent,...

View Book

A Lily in the Field

A Lily in the Field

Author(s): John Lawton

Location(s): Auschwitz, London, Vienna

Genre(s): Thriller

Era(s): 1930s 1940s

Location

Content

Reviews

Vienna, 1934. Ten-year-old cello prodigy Meret Voytek becomes a pupil of concert pianist Viktor Rosen, a Jew in exile from Germany. The Isle of Man, 1940. An interned Hungarian physicist is recruited for the Manhattan Project in Los Alomos,...

View Book

A Long Walk to Wimbledon

A Long Walk to Wimbledon

Author(s): H R F Keating

Location(s): London

Genre(s): Fantasy, Fiction

Era(s): Future

Location

Content

Reviews

HIghgate – Oxford Street – Wimbledon and more…..For London the worst has happened. There have been riots, huge uncontrolled fires, outbreaks of savage looting, artillery battles, mass flights. The great city lies three parts deserted, open to marauding gangs...

View Book

A Particular Eye for Villainy

A Particular Eye for Villainy

Author(s): Ann Granger

Location(s): England, London

Genre(s): Crime

Era(s): Late 1800s

Location

Content

Reviews

When Mr Thomas Tapley is found bludgeoned to death in his sitting room, his neighbour Inspector Benjamin Ross of Scotland Yard is immediately summoned. Little is known about the elusive gentleman until Mr Jonathan Tapley, QC, hears of the...

View Book

A Place Called Winter

A Place Called Winter

Author(s): Patrick Gale

Location(s): London, Saskatchewan

Genre(s): Fiction, Historical

Era(s): Earlier 20th Century

Location

Content

Reviews

A shy but privileged elder son, Harry Cane has followed convention at every step. Even the beginnings of an illicit, dangerous affair do little to shake the foundations of his muted existence – until the shock of discovery and...

View Book

A Private Business

A Private Business

Author(s): Barbara Nadel

Location(s): London

Genre(s): Crime

Era(s): Modern

Location

Content

Reviews

Barbara Nadel brings us a new and original pair of detectives in poverty-stricken Stratford East, whose inhabitants are cynical about any possible improvements the Olympic Park can make to their wretched lives. Here another set of Londoners is impelled...

View Book

A Stranger in Mayfair

A Stranger in Mayfair

Author(s): Charles Finch

Location(s): London

Genre(s): Historical, Mystery

Era(s): Late 1800s

Location

Content

Reviews

Lenox is now married to Lady Jane and is an MP in the House of Commons. Ludovic Starling, a fellow MP, has asked Lenox to investigate the murder of one of his footman.

View Book

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now