Blogs in January 1970

Slipping into Paradise 1st January 1970

In the tradition of Under the Tuscan Sun and A Year in Provence, here is Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson’s ode to his personal paradise-his adopted home, New Zealand. After living in California, why did Masson settle- out of all the...

Read More 

A Land of Two Halves 1st January 1970

This book is a collection of writing, which first comprised a newspaper column. Not a guidebook but a guide to New Zealand, informing of the people and the country.

Read More 

Close to the Wind 1st January 1970

Georgiana da Silva is catapulted out of the Victorian drawing rooms and into a world of danger when she escapes her fiendish fiance to engage in a mad dash across the world to save her brother before an unknown...

Read More 

Come on Shore and We Will Kill You and Eat You All 1st January 1970

Come On Shore and We Will Kill And Eat You All is a sensitive and vibrant portrayal of the cultural collision between Westerners and Maoris, from Abel Tasman’s discovery of New Zealand in 1642 to the author’s unlikely romance...

Read More 

Getting Rooted in New Zealand 1st January 1970

Craving change and lacking logic, at 26, Jamie, a cute and quirky Californian, impulsively moves to New Zealand to avoid dating after reading that the country’s population has 100,000 fewer men. In her journal, she captures a hysterically honest...

Read More