Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now



Author(s): Denver Murphy

Location(s): St Albans

Genre(s): Suspense, Thriller

Era(s): present

Inexperienced detective Ruby Knight is thrown a curve ball when a spate of burglaries results in a homicide.

Commuters to the sleepy suburban town of St. Albans become alarmed when a series of aggravated burglaries begins.

DC Knight and her new partner, experienced but cynical DI Cooper, are in charge of tracking the gang responsible. But the pressure mounts as the attacks become increasingly violent.

They pull out all the stops to catch them, but in the meantime another type of criminal sees an opportunity.

Will DC Knight be able to separate the wheat from the chaff and see the facts for what they are, or will pressure from on high to solve the case let a dangerous individual off the hook?

SCORNED is the second book in the DC Ruby Knight investigations series.

The full list of books is as follows:

1. The Deep End
2. Scorned
3. Beneath the Surface
4. Borderline

These books are all FREE with Kindle Unlimited and available in paperback.

Denver Murphy is the author of the best-selling DSI Jeffrey Brandt cop-turned-serial killer trilogy which begins with ONE STEP AHEAD.

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in

Enter the 2021TripFiction 'Sense of Place' Creative Writing Competition!

A story in which the location plays as important a role as the rest of your words.

2,500 word maximum, 750 word minimum

Judges include Victoria Hislop and Rosanna Ley

First Prize of £1,000 / US$1,350

Prizes total £1,750 / US$2,362 

Winning entry published on TripFiction site and publicised on Social Media

Entries close 6th November 2021