Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

The Twisted Threads of Polly Freeman

The Twisted Threads of Polly Freeman
  • Author(s): Pippa Goodhart
  • Location(s): Cheshire
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): 1838

It’s 1838. Polly is sent from a London workhouse to Quarry Bank Cotton Mill. The family who own Quarry Bank care for their apprentice children better than most mills do. But Polly is owned by the mill just as...

The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree
  • Author(s): Rachel Burge
  • Location(s): Norway
  • Genre(s): Young Adult
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Part ghost story, part Nordic mystery – a creepy and chilling tale steeped in Norse myth, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Michelle Paver’s DARK MATTER. Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes,...

The Two Lives of Sara

The Two Lives of Sara
  • Author(s): Catherine Adel West
  • Location(s): Memphis
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): 1960s

In 1960s Memphis, a young mother finds refuge in a boardinghouse where family encompasses more than just blood, and hidden truths can bury you or set you free. Sara King has nothing, save for her secrets and the baby in her...

The Tyranny of Lost Things

The Tyranny of Lost Things
  • Author(s): Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett
  • Location(s): London
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Modern

When she rents a room in the house she lived in as a child, Harmony hopes she’ll uncover the source of her nightmares about that lost time. As the London riots explode in the streets, the hot summers of...

The Tyre

The Tyre
  • Author(s): C J Dubois, E C Huntley
  • Location(s): Tamil Nadu
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Contemporary

The Tyre tells the story of Ranji who barely manages to scrape a living gathering wood from the side of a busy road in Tamil Nadu, but accepts his lot uncomplainingly. His one and only concern is to feed...

The Tzar’s Curious Runaways

The Tzar’s Curious Runaways
  • Author(s): Robin Scott-Elliot
  • Location(s): St Petersburg (Leningrad)
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): 1725

A magical, captivating tale of adventure set in imperial Russia. St Petersburg, Russia 1725. Katinka Dashkova is running for her life because everything she knows is changing. Katinka, a dazzling ballerina with a hunched back, and her friends Alexei...

The Ultimate Tragedy

The Ultimate Tragedy
  • Author(s): Addulai Sila
  • Location(s): Guinea-Bissau
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Mid 20th Century

The first novel to be translated into English from Guinea Bissau, The Ultimate Tragedy is a tale of love and emerging political awareness in an Africa beginning to challenge Portuguese colonial rule. Ndani leaves her village to seek a...

The Umbrella

The Umbrella
  • Author(s): Ingrid Schubert, Dieter Schubert
  • Location(s): World
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): N/A

It’s a windy, autumn day when a little dog discovers a bright red umbrella in the garden. The umbrella, like a magic carpet, whirls him up into the air and sails him across the world, over continents and oceans,...

The Umbrella Man

The Umbrella Man
  • Author(s): Jake Needham
  • Location(s): Singapore
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Thriller
  • Era(s): Modern

The first bomb cracked the Hilton like an egg; the second gutted the lobby of the Marriott; and the third peeled the front off the Grand Hyatt. Three massive explosions, all at American hotels in the heart of the...

The Umbrella Mouse

The Umbrella Mouse
  • Author(s): Anna Fargher, Sam Usher (Illustrator)
  • Location(s): London
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): 1944, WW2

A timeless tale of courage, resistance and friendship, The Umbrella Mouse is a heart-stopping adventure drawing on the true stories of animals caught in the conflict of WWII, winner of the 2019 Sainsbury’s Book Prize for Fiction and selected...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Join TripFiction and take part in our weekly GIVEAWAYS!

Other benefits of membership include:

   Receiving an entertaining monthly newsletter

   Adding new books to the site

   Reviewing books you have read