Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

The Ice Storm

The Ice Storm
  • Author(s): Rick Moody
  • Location(s): New Canaan
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 1970s

Nixon and ‘Nam, pet rocks and shag rugs, wife-swapping and party-hopping. Suburban New England, 1973, and the Hood family are about to wish they’d stayed home. Astutely acerbic, painfully funny, THE ICE STORM is an astonishing novel of the...

The Ice Swimmer

The Ice Swimmer
  • Author(s): Kjell Ola Dahl
  • Location(s): Oslo
  • Genre(s): Noir, Suspense
  • Era(s): Contemporary

When a dead man is lifted from the freezing waters of Oslo Harbour just before Christmas, Detective Lena Stigersand’s stressful life suddenly becomes even more complicated. Not only is she dealing with a cancer scare, a stalker and an...

The Ice Whisperers

The Ice Whisperers
  • Author(s): Helenka Stachera, Marco Guadalupi (Illustrator)
  • Location(s): Siberia
  • Genre(s): Children
  • Era(s): N/A

A haunting magical adventure about two sisters born 40,000 years apart, perfect for fans of Frostheart and The Wild Way Home. When Bela’s mother dies, she is summoned to deepest Siberia to stay with an uncle she’s never met....

The Idle Stance of the Tippler Pigeon

The Idle Stance of the Tippler Pigeon
  • Author(s): Safinah Danish Elahi
  • Location(s): Karachi, Lahore, London
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Zohaib, Misha and Nadia believed they would be in each other’s lives forever. As children they played, argued, teased and loved one another. Yet nothing could have prepared them for the tragic turn of events one fateful afternoon in...

The Idle Years

The Idle Years
  • Author(s): Orhan Kemal
  • Location(s): Turkey
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 20th century

Told by an author who believes in his people, The Idle Years is the story of the. fears, flights and returns of the individual in his struggle to find the truth as he matures into adulthood after a difficult...

The Ignorance of Blood

The Ignorance of Blood
  • Author(s): Robert Wilson
  • Location(s): Seville
  • Genre(s): Crime
  • Era(s): Contemporary

A new psychological thriller in the Javier Falcon quartet, that includes THE HIDDEN ASSASSINS and The Blind Man of Seville. The sweltering city of Seville is still recovering from a shocking and unsolved terrorist attack but now a spectacular...

The Iguana Tree

The Iguana Tree
  • Author(s): Michel Stone
  • Location(s): South Carolina
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): early 21st century

Set amid the perils of illegal border crossings, The Iguana Tree is the suspenseful saga of Lilia and Hector, who separately make their way from Mexico into the United States, seeking work in the Carolinas and a home for...

The Illness Lesson

The Illness Lesson
  • Author(s): Clare Beams
  • Location(s): Massachusetts
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 19th century

At their newly founded school, Samuel Hood and his daughter Caroline promise a groundbreaking education for young women. But Caroline has grave misgivings. After all, her own unconventional education has left her unmarriageable and isolated, unsuited to the narrow...

The Illuminated

The Illuminated
  • Author(s): Anindita Ghose
  • Location(s): India
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): Contemporary

A remarkable debut novel about women’s relationships – with each other and with the men in their lives – and the rise of fundamentalism in India today. ‘When the light shifts, you see the world differently.’ A superbly nuanced...

The Imaginary Lives of James Poneke

The Imaginary Lives of James Poneke
  • Author(s): Tina Makereti
  • Location(s): London
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 19t Century

James Poneke is a young Maori orphan, raised by missionaries, with a burning desire to travel and explore the world. When an English artist on a tour of New Zealand invites James to return home with him, the boy...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now