Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

Filter:

Love and the Goddess

Love and the Goddess

Author(s): Mary Elizabeth Coen

Location(s): Brazil, Galway, Peru

Genre(s): Fiction, Romance

Era(s): Modern

When cookery teacher Kate Canavan’s perfect life falls apart she moves to Galway City. Kate’s friend James urges her to love and nurture herself, but mischievous Ella persuades her to dust off her unused dating skills. So Kate explores...

View Book

Narcissism for Beginners

Narcissism for Beginners

Author(s): Martine McDonagh

Location(s): Recife, Redondo Beach

Genre(s): Coming of Age, Fiction

Era(s): Present day

Meet Sonny Anderson as he tips headlong into adulthood. Sonny doesn’t remember his mother’s face; he was kidnapped at age five by his father, Guru Bim, and taken to live in a commune in Brazil. Since the age of...

View Book

Paradise City

Paradise City

Author(s): Joe Thomas

Location(s): Sao Paulo

Genre(s): Thriller

Era(s): Contemporary

Mario Leme is a low-ranking detective in the Sao Paolo civil police. Every day on the way to work he sets off early and drives through the favela known as Paraisopolis – Paradise City. It’s a pilgrimage: his wife...

View Book

The Ambivalent Corpse

The Ambivalent Corpse

Author(s): Jerold Last

Location(s): Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay

Genre(s): Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

Era(s): The present

In the first novel in the Roger and Suzanne mystery series, private detective Roger Bowman and his girlfriend scientist Suzanne Foster find themselves traveling through Uruguay, Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina to solve a baffling and grotesque murder case. Parts...

View Book

The Book of Rio

The Book of Rio

Author(s): Katie Slade, Toni Marques

Location(s): Rio de Janeiro

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Contemporary

It’s the city the rest of the world descends on to party…. whether for the spectacular annual Carnival, the sun-kissed beaches, the World Cup, or, in 2016, the Olympics. It’s also a place that’s sadly become synonymous with some...

View Book

The Brazilian Husband

The Brazilian Husband

Author(s): Rebecca Powell

Location(s): Brazil

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): 1970s-1990s

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty: Determined to honor her late husband’s final request, Judith and her teenage step-daughter, Rosa, set out on a journey from London to Brazil to track down his family and take his...

View Book

The Diary of Helena Morley

The Diary of Helena Morley

Author(s): Elizabeth Bishop

Location(s): Brazil

Genre(s): Autobiography/Memoirs

Era(s): 1890s

‘When I first came to Brazil, in 1952, I asked my Brazilian friends which Brazilian books I should begin reading … They frequently recommended this little book, “Minha Vida de Menina” … In English the title means “My Life...

View Book

The Double Death of Quincas Water-Bray

The Double Death of Quincas Water-Bray

Author(s): Jorge Amado

Location(s): Brazil

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): 20th century

Widely considered the greatest work by the foremost Brazilian author of the twentieth century, The Double Death of Quincas Water-Bray comes to Penguin Classics in a new translation by the dean of Portuguese-language translators, Gregory Rabassa. It tells the...

View Book

The Healer

The Healer

Author(s): Amber Hayward

Location(s): Brazil

Genre(s): Fiction

From the sweltering slums of Rio de Janeiro to the isolated plantations of Brazil, The Healer tells the story of Manoel, a curandero, who inherits an incredible healing power, and the people whose lives he changes forever. But little...

View Book

The House in Smyrna

The House in Smyrna

Author(s): Tatiana Salem Levy

Location(s): Brazil, Portugal, Smyrna

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): Modern looking back

In Rio de Janeiro, a woman suffering from a mysterious illness, which is eroding her body and mind, decides to accept a challenge from her grandfather: to take the key to the house where he grew up – in...

View Book

Refine Location

Locations in Brazil

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now