Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Monthly Newsletter

Join Now

The Malayan Trilogy

The Malayan Trilogy

Author(s): Anthony Burgess

Location(s): Malaysia (Malaya)

Genre(s): Fiction

Era(s): 1950s

This trilogy – “Time for a Tiger”, “The Enemy in the Blanket” and “Beds in the East” – relate the story of race relations in post-war Malaysia on the cusp of independence. Burgess had served in the colonial service, and these books do justice to characters who are Malay, Tamil and Chinese as well as British. It’s a great read if you’re visiting Malaysia, particularly some of the smaller cities with pre-war architecture and atmosphere, such as Penang, Malacca or Kuching.

Review this Book

To review this book, please

Log in