Why Join?

  • Add New Books

  • Write a Review

  • Backpack Reading Lists

  • Newsletter Updates

Join Now

The Ghosts of China

The Ghosts of China
  • Author(s): G I Lewis
  • Location(s): Merthyr Tydfil
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): 2013 looking back to mid 19th Century

Merthyr Tydfil in 1844 is a frontier town on the cutting edge of the industrial revolution where wealth and crime walk hand in hand. Introduced just a few years earlier, the Glamorgan Constabulary fight to take control of this...

The Ghosts of Martyrs Square: An Eyewitness Account of Lebanon’s Life Struggle

The Ghosts of Martyrs Square: An Eyewitness Account of Lebanon’s Life Struggle
  • Author(s): Michael Young
  • Location(s): Lebanon
  • Genre(s): Nonfiction
  • Era(s): 1980s onwards

Different from the Arab countries of the Middle East, Lebanon is a pluralistic society – 18 religious sects, a large minority of Christians. It is often seen as a ‘message’ to the possibility of Arab democratization, but it has...

The Giddy Career of Mr Gadd (deceased)

The Giddy Career of Mr Gadd (deceased)
  • Author(s): Marie Gameson
  • Location(s): United Kingdom, China
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Psychological Thriller
  • Era(s): Current

Winifred Rigby is proud of having no memory – an achievement she attributes to years of Buddhist meditation (and a profound epiphany on a mountain in Taiwan). Determined to get the old Winnie back, her staunchly Catholic mother and...

The Gift of the Magi

The Gift of the Magi
  • Author(s): O Henry
  • Location(s): Manhattan
  • Genre(s): Fiction
  • Era(s): turn of 20th century

One dollar and eighty-seven cents is all the money Della has in the world to buy her beloved a Christmas present. She has nothing to sell except her only treasure–her long, beautiful brown hair. Set in New York at...

The Gilded Beaver

The Gilded Beaver
  • Author(s): Margaret Lindsay Holton
  • Location(s): Hamilton, Muskoka, Toronto
  • Genre(s): Historical, Fiction
  • Era(s): 1980s

Winner of the Hamilton Book Awards, 1999. What happens when a talented and up-and-coming Canadian fine furniture female designer, Iris, accepts a mysterious commission from a enigmatic and eccentric billionaire from Toronto who says he wants “good chairs”? The...

The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones
  • Author(s): Namina Forna
  • Location(s): West Africa
  • Genre(s): Young Adult, Fantasy
  • Era(s): N/A

The must-read epic fantasy of 2021, as featured on Cosmo, Buzzfeed, BookRiot and Refinery 29. In this West African-inspired world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and...

The GILDED TREASON – An Alex Hunt Adventure Thriller

The GILDED TREASON – An Alex Hunt Adventure Thriller
  • Author(s): Urcelia Teixeira
  • Location(s): Cambodia
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Thriller
  • Era(s): Current

ALEX HUNT and SAM QUINN are back for another Action-packed Archaeological Adventure! This time, in the Cambodian jungle! Finding the golden urn was supposed to be easy. Nothing the skilled Alex Hunt and Sam Quinn haven’t done before. But...

The Girl and the Sunbird

The Girl and the Sunbird
  • Author(s): Rebecca Stonehill
  • Location(s): Nairobi
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Historical
  • Era(s): 1903 and 1953

A haunting, heartbreaking and unforgettable novel of a woman married to a man she can never love, and drawn to another who will capture her heart forever… When eighteen year old Iris Johnson is forced to choose between marrying...

The Girl and the Tiger

The Girl and the Tiger
  • Author(s): Paul Rosolie
  • Location(s): Karnataka, Western Ghats
  • Genre(s): Fiction, Young Adult
  • Era(s): Modern

Isha is a girl who loves animals but struggles in the confines of school. When she is sent away to live with her grandparents on the Indian countryside, she discovers a sacred grove where a young Bengal tiger has...

The Girl Before

The Girl Before
  • Author(s): J P Delaney
  • Location(s): London
  • Genre(s): Psychological Thriller
  • Era(s): Contemporary

Enter the world of One Folgate Street and discover perfection . . . but can you pay the price? Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime in London: the chance to live in a beautiful ultra-minimalist house...

Would you like to add a book or a review or create a reading list? Join Today – It's FREE

Register Now

Enter the 2021TripFiction 'Sense of Place' Creative Writing Competition!

A story in which the location plays as important a role as the rest of your words.

2,500 word maximum, 750 word minimum

Judges include Victoria Hislop and Rosanna Ley

First Prize of £1,000 / US$1,350

Prizes total £1,750 / US$2,362 

Winning entry published on TripFiction site and publicised on Social Media

Entries close 6th November 2021